Posted in Uncategorized

2016 In Retrospect:What I’m grateful for…

To be honest I don’t know where to start from…(that annoying voice in my head is like ” duhh the beginning”) but to be honest if I were to begin this from the beginning…( well basically every beginning has a beginning which has a beginning beginning beginning beginning… So basically if I am to start this from the very beginning I might get caught in an endless throwback paradox cataclysm ETPC… ( A Theory I just thought up to define the endless universal nature of absolute beginnings) and I’m not prepared for that). I don’t know if I’m making any sense.
Truth be told 2016 has been a freaken awesome year…
We’ve had all sorts of Trends… A Fair share of disasters… We lost so many great minds… Ooo and a lot of things changed.
America elected their first blonde President.
Ghana “errected” our first bald president.
Yhup… So many things changed.
To me these are the things I’m grateful for…
1. I’m grateful that I found my voice. Right from last Christmas Vacation that saw me rebooting my writing skills through to the Late night writing session and my performance at the Sobolo plus Chicken poetry Show, with all the other performances and open air theatre show. Well all I can say was I was no longer a kid copying others because he liked what they did… I was no longer a Lecrae wanna be…
I learnt to appreciate and embrace who I was becoming. I was no longer reechoing what someone else was saying… I was voicing my heart out on issues that were very close to me…
2. I’m grateful for Art. Tho society might not fully understand and embrace artiste of all kinds… I learnt that Art is a Universal calling… You will have to sacrifice certain things to portray your message. And the message comes out in different diverse ways.
I’m grateful that we found a way to express and appreciate ourselves for what we’ve got.
3. I’m grateful for people. Truth be told I formed a lot of bonds with people this year. The year saw me strengthening old bonds and making new ones… From friends, to crushes,colleagues, role models, fellow vandals, classmates,rivals, my roomies, the boys boys, a few fans, the Open air theatre Listeners… Trust me I learnt a lot about people… I learnt to look beyond first impressions… I learnt to embrace personalities… I learnt to accept differences… Yayra, TeeJay, Jeff(with the big nose) Michelle💃, all the Jennifers, all the Josephines, Ras, AB, Josiah, Hondred percent, Gladiator, Ozionn, Nora, Rhyme Sonny, Nana Asaase, Jewel king… Amaze, Birdy, Akotowa…. It’s a really really long list… I can’t forget Elaine…
4. I’m grateful for my experiences on this journey.
From the Sobolo days… To the Friday night boys boys fellowship 😆 ( Joel, OJ and Karim… I see you) to the days with Oswald… One on One with Hondred percent… Spirited Poetry@ Chale wote… The school productions… The one one Agbana😆😆… And Open Air theatre show… I learnt a lot of lessons through all these…
5. I’m grateful for this blog.
Basically I opened an online Junkyard… As a platform to express myself… To be frank this is by far one of the most aimless things I’ve ever seen… Blogging about anything… Everything… And Nothing… But you guys loved it and gave me  over A thousand page views just under three months…
6.I’m grateful for freedom. We fail to realize it but freedom comes with a price that isn’t easy to pay. Freedom means being free to be U… Cos the U is the U in “beautiful” and that’s beautiful… Freedom is being free from religious constraints… And knowing God for who he truly is.
Freedom is being free from societal constraints… Freedom is being free from fear and self doubt… Freedom is freakin expensive…
Freedom means dying to self and looking beyond what you see…
Freedom is being creative…
Freedom doesn’t give a dam!! Bout what people think cos they’ve got know right to hold your flow back…
Freedom is realizing that, that little weird gift you’ve got is not a sin… Just because religious people don’t like it…
Freedom is Knowing that all things were made for him, by him, and for him… For every good and perfect gift cometh down from the father of light  bestowed freely unto his children…
7. I’m Grateful for Ghanaian Democracy. I’m glad that our people have learnt to speak up for themselves… I’m glad that our leaders have learnt that power is in the hands of the people and not positions…
I’m glad that our people are learning to hold leaders responsible for unfulfilled promises.
I’m glad that politics is evolving beyond politricks and propaganda.
8. I’m grateful for Spoken word.
I’m grateful that I can openly speak my heart out about practically anything and people will be able to connect with my voice and appreciate it… I’m grateful that I’m able to be the Leonardo Da Vinci of wordplay painting on your mental canvases… I’m grateful that I can be the Mozart and Beethoven playing Symphonies with words on the grand pianos of your heart…
9. I’m grateful for love… I’m grateful that I have learnt to love myself… My work… My Art and My Maker…
I’m grateful that I’ve learnt to care for people around me… I’m grateful that I’m still fighting very hard to overcome lust… And give life, love a wife like he loved the church, without seeing how many hearts we can break first…
10. I’m Grateful for Adulthood.
I used to think I had entered the University prematurely… I’m insecure about growing up and maturing very quickly… I’m scared I might be growing up to quickly and I just might miss out on life… I’m scared one day I’m going to wake up with a beard which will destroy my baby face (bare in mind my baby face is my most priced assert😋)
Truth be told I turned 18 on the 22nd of March 2016(this might come as a surprise to many people😝) I don’t know what’s so special about this age… Most people feel because they’re now legally accepted as adults so it’s really special… Well now you are legally allowed to watch PG 18 movies(which most people watched under 12), vote, drive, drink, get married… Well to me it was just another number… Nothing special…
On my 18th birthday I got a text from my father as a birthday present 😆😆😆😆😆…
Personally I believe I became an adult the moment I entered Senior High school… And I became a responsible adult as I entered University…
I remember those countless occasions… Especially storymoja…
When the “adults” realized they had been working with a Kid😆😆😆
I’ve always enjoyed that look on their faces… Like “if I were doing this when I was 18😱😱😱”
Finally if I were asked to describe Adulthood… I would say. Adulthood is when you start feeling all grown up and think you control your life so you act like it, when in actual sense you have no freakin control over whatever happens…
Responsibility on the other hand is about foresight and making right decisions.

Yh errhhmm… To celebrate the new year here’s what we will be doing…
You can ask me any question you have always wanted to ask and I will answer them in the next post.
You can send them by email to deydzi@outlook.com or on WhatsApp through this number +233262728491….
This is a once in a life time opportunity!!!

Author:

Spoken word artiste, Lyricist, writer, actor, radio show host.... Basically out of the abundance of my Art 🎨 you hear my heart ❤ speak

4 thoughts on “2016 In Retrospect:What I’m grateful for…

Leave a Reply

