Posted in Uncategorized

Soul Food Poisoning

6tag_170117-201732.jpgπŸ’ƒ πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ
( I like to move it move itπŸ˜† )
Char you guys are homies thanks for the 2k views in just four monthsπŸ˜‹… We hit 2k views on our last post… I really appreciate the support. In view of this I will be releasing an official thank you post very soon…. In the meantime enjoy today’s post.
Soul Food Poisoning.
Music is food for the soul,
The taste varies from persons and places… So deep, bloodlines and rhymes schemes… Punchlines, No wack themes.
And tho this is poetry… I swear if you cut off the music I’ll bleed to death!! Why?
Hip hop has a soul… Like Ehalakasa it lives in us.”
(Deydzi Soul Music ft Peri)
I’ve never really been attracted to Ghanaian music,in fact I’m very very very very very picky about whom I listen too. Initially my definition of music was Lecrae, I’ve learnt to adjust my playlist.
I was up early and already on the road before the usual time I wake up. I sat in the front seat of a Dodowa car and headed to a place that brought back crazy high school memories, I knew the task ahead of me today…
I knew the mission behind my trip.
Trotros can be something else, so to prevent any unexpected circumstances… To set the mood for my mission… To prepare me mentally and emotionally for the task ahead of me…
To spice up my creativity…
I had to listen to music…
For me Music wasn’t just some sort of entertainment, nah it was more than that. It was a soul feast…
It is uplifting. I and the lyrics of the song connect and become one in soul and mind.
So I sat in the front seat of the car and I comfortably listened to Andy Mineo’s Uncomfortable Album, ears fully plugged, volume on full blast, eyes slightly closed, I believe the best term to use was soaking.
I was soaking the music.
Till now the words of Strange motions still plays in my mind…
Mineo used the metaphor of people dancing in a ballroom to describe the entertainment industry, the persona speaks about how he’s struggling to dance and how the room that was filled with people is now empty… He ends by saying “I’m not having fun anymore… But I can’t seem to find the door”
I arrived at my destination quite early, despite a big delay from the police men who were hustling drivers for cash,since change came they’ve all gone back to the streets.
I entered the studio feeling very hyper… It was like a fire was in my chest ready to explode, well what was I expecting from spending over an hour on the road filling myself up with doses of Andy Mineo’s uncomfortable and J Monty’s Level 54.
The beautiful thing about Ghanaian studios are you get to meet a host of underground artistes. Some very talented others are quite crappy…
Well I went behind the mic for a while and yh… I did my thing. My flow was quite different from what most of these guys listened to… This was probably the first time they were hearing spoken word.
While I was on break another set of people came in.
These guys looked a little too old to be pursuing a rap career, so I was expecting some kind off matured flow… Kharis cooked up a crazy hip hop beat for them… And we all had our heads bobbing to it in the studio.
So the over aged rapper went behind the studio mic, bobbing his head to the beat…
At this point I was really trying so hard not to laugh…
Very coarse voice… KG2 rhyme meters…
Empty lyrics and the flow was not only off beat, it was struggling with the beat.(I have been trying so hard not to open any side comments in this post but c’mon, I just have to…. I’m currently searching my mind for the best metaphorical imagery to describe the rap flow…. Uhuuhh, found it)
The flow was like one of those horrible bathroom moments…
When you take a hardcore turd πŸ’©
And the poop πŸ’© refuses to go backstage after all the flushing…
(yhhh yhhh…. I’veΒ  made a comeback to elaborate on the poop… So this type of poop is not a civilian… Nope… It’s a hardcore Black special ops marine…
If it was an action movie star, it would have been Sylvester Stalon. It wasn’t supposed to be dropped in a WC … Maybe a KVIP or something else… And the worst part is it keeps smiling at you like this emoji πŸ’©)
The lyrics of the song were very horrible… All I was hearing was
“money money money spend the money yh…” Backed with some cuss words and dirty phrases…
He featured another rapper who had a very good flow but same empty lyrics…
He complained about the explicit contents of the song, he didn’t seem too happy about it…
The first rapper said, this is what the people like… This is what they want… Spending money, so let’s give it to them. (if he were actually spending money he wouldn’t be recording in our underground ghetto home studio)
He engaged me in a little conversation… We spoke about the beat and stuff… Before he left he said something that amused me… He said “when would I hit and become a superstar like Weezy…”
To be frank the lyrics were horrible, there were some cuss word combos that don’t make sense to regular cussers…
And just like strange motions this guy is seriously praying to enter the empty “no way out” ballroom.
This is why I’m very picky with Music… Music has this way of subtly getting stuck in your head and playing out in your life…
You turn to behave more like the stuff you listen to.
And most Ghanaian artistes are copying blindly… Despite all our local genres and blends we are still not musically independent… We still copy wrongly… I remember my days in the cultural troupe, every folk song we sang had a meaning and lesson behind it. Music today is all about unhealthy entertainment…
Most local rappers are blindly copying the American hip hop industry which is actually a very dirty game…
Major labels are funded by private prisons, major labels then fund minor labels and independent artiste,as a means of keeping the industry in check…
So the deal is to produce music about drugs, sex violence and crime… To increase the crime rate in black communities so that the prisons get filled and then more cash goes to the unseen architects of this plot. Artistes brag about money they don’t have, cars they can’t buy and neighborhoods they can’t go into. If most of these guys are so rich why do they fall victim to task evasion suits. Your favorite rapper might claim he’s the man on the block, but all I see is Pinocchio trying to be a real boy… It’s all a puppet show… Nothing but faking…
This is why certain good artiste who don’t follow this trend still remain underground for a long time, no one is ready to promote substance. The likes of BOB,E40,Lecrae,Gemstones,NF,Bizzle,Hopsin ETC.
I used to be a fan of urban music, but of late I’m very picky in this circle too. Most of the new artistes have the wrong motives and produce crappy songs(seriously… Very judgmental and self righteous songs… Some even try to sound religiously superficial). Their messages are not relevant and real.
After my break I went back to recording… Most of the other artistes present were amazed… I even engaged them in conversation… We spoke on politics… We spoke on religion…
We spoke about art… One guy wants me to help him with a collabo(spoken word ft dancehall)
They bought my idea about impacting society with music…
They saw the need to be real and relevant… They saw the need for good music…
Before I left I played a few of my favorite tracks for them…
First was Words,2006 by Sho Barracka from his album The Narrative.
Then I played Papa San ft DaTruth Step up from the One blood album(the dancehall boys loved it…)
Finally the last piece I played was a spoken word piece…
It had a strong message, and everyone who listened was hit right in the heart…
The piece was real and relatable…
Heavy truth cleverly woven into punchlines…
Philipa’s Lucozade Asante From TRP’s First of all EP…
Dinner was served…

Author:

Spoken word artiste, Lyricist, writer, actor, radio show host.... Basically out of the abundance of my Art 🎨 you hear my heart ❀ speak

5 thoughts on “Soul Food Poisoning

Leave a Reply

