Posted in Uncategorized

Misconceptions The Concept…

6tag_250117-000655Behold the Masterpiece….
A piece of the Master’s peace.
This happens to be the cover art for the mind blowing spoken word project I’ve been cooking for a very long time. I believe a cover art is not supposed to be just some cool picture… It’s supposed to be a visual representation of the Track or album.
And that’s why we’re here today.
Before I give you the concept behind the cover art I’ll have to tell you an epic story…
A legendary tale, the tale of all tales… (in fact this tale has a tail, and there’s a tale about it’s tail,which also has a tale,about a tail of a tale about a tail of a tale’s tail’s tale’s tail’s tale…. I choose not to continue down this infinite loophole of tails, wait is it tales….)
This story is from the very beginning…(but every beginning has a beginning, so are we taking it from the very beginning’s beginning beginning beginning beginning beginning… Another loophole discovered… Barry Allen should quit fooling with the timeline… And Deydzi you know we haven’t actually said anything relating to today’s post… *facepalm*)
An Open MIC, Emergency Rookie photographer, and a new phone number…
Everything around her was moving very slowly…
The Veins on her neck were about jumping out…
Her senses were alive, and were on fire…
The pain was Extremely excruciating…
She tried screaming, but her lower jaw was tightly hugging her upper jaw in a firm grip…
Droplets of sweat raced down her forehead…
They did nothing to cool her down…
The heat was coming from inside…
PUSH!!!!
The voice of the midwife broke through her alarming senses…
She pushed with all her might…
(ERROR DETECTED!!!🚨… sorry there, I think we started from the wrong beginning😁… You see the specific beginning we’re supposed to be looking at is a very significant event. It’s that point in the timeline which is a stronghold to so many future and present events,including the subject of today’s post which we have not even touched on yet…
This event is partly responsible for the formation of this extraordinary blog… This event is not so much of a story…)
I looked out the window of the Trotro… I was feeling very uneasy. You know, that feeling when you are going somewhere you’ve never been before… It’s so uncomfortable roaming in unfamiliar territories.
I crossed the road from where I had alighted and viola!!! There was my destination. “One Corner Spot and grill”
I entered and waited for my squad…
#MeetDaSquad…
1. Nora Anyidoho… AKA Xorlalie…
Special abilities: Certified Wierdo(I don’t know who certified her,but she’s a real wierdo… I don’t think she’s human. Homo something else not sapien. She has her own species, an endangered specie to be precise), crazy writing ability but she doesn’t write much, has excellent command over whatever she has written. Ooo she’s also a fine girl and she has always got my back.
2. Lemuel Amegashie… AKA Lemmy.
Special abilities: Real geek, excellent rapper, great writer (he has this way of creating excellent punchlines…)
3.Telvin Abariga. AKA Mr Tee.
Special abilities:very little is known about him… He is lowkey personified. He’s a cool guy with some excellent talent(He was the winner of the second edition of the Bibilingual spoken word competition)
4. Kenneth(with some Ga surname bii laidat). AKA Peri.
Special Abilities: Extremely annoying, Blows very very veryoff comments like something… Nonfa magnate. He claims he’s some sort of photographer.
He has his way with writing long picturistic  pieces. (I don’t know if that’s his idea of photography.
Nora and I were supposed to perform at a Show here, at the same time cover the event for open air theatre show. It was 1on1 with Hondred percent and we had put together this squad to help with the  performances. We were the open MIC team.
The audience turn up was low, Nora was late as usual, but the experience was dope…
Soon the Show started and Peri was given the camera to take pictures.
I remember performing Game over… I saw her Smile at me.
She was sitting at the back of the small crowd, just smiling, I guess she was enjoying herself.
It was Peri’s turn to perform so he gave me the camera. I’m not very good at taking pictures, but I’m good at acting like I’m good at doing something I’m not good at doing.
I remember striking epic photographer poses which ironically didn’t reflect in the pictures I took of Peri.
I noticed her smiling at me again…
So I turned and took some pictures of her.
The show continued to flow and soon it started raining…
You know, whenever there’s a gathering of creative people nothing can stop them from achieving what they want. So we moved the show from an open place to a roofed place.  The guys and I were half wet… I turned and saw Nora talking with people as usual. She was gathering contacts of prospective guests for our radio show… I noticed she was talking to the Smiller… I walked over to them… Nora saw me and did the introductions… “Elaine meet Deydzi, Dey… Elaine” She turned to her and continued. “Dey is my Co host for the radio Show…” Qwerh Nora be too much. You see what I meant by she’s got my back…
I wanted to ask Elaine for her number… But I felt very weird just saying it raw like that. I was looking for a way to fuse it into the convo… Nora came to save me again… “So we would pick your number and maybe we can have you on our show before you get back to the states…” She gave Nora her number and told me to send her the pictures.
(fast forward a little)
My squad and I spoke to Hondred percent and he really encouraged us to keep the creative flame burning. The guys were grateful that I had shared this opportunity with them. We decided that it was time we formed some sort alliance to push ourselves… Truth be told I happen to meet very interesting people. So there and then heartbeat records started.
(fast forward again)
Nora just sent me Elaine’s number…
I needed an opening line, I decided to use a classic…
“Hi… Deydzi here.”
One tick… Two ticks… Blue tick… Typing…
“Hello
I must say that’s a badass name😊”
And that was the beginning of a lot of things (definitely not what you are thinking… Perverted minds)
The Actual Concept…
Well now that we’ve met Elaine I think we can move on to the actual concept…
Elaine is one of those who inspired me to start a blog( in fact the second day of texting her she said she was giving me an assignment to make a blog… I declined, and eventually clicked on the “create a free site with WordPress” link on her blog… http://readefing.wordpress.com)
She’s the one who created the cover art, she’s a box of creativity, talented in different fields.
To completely get  the whole concept behind the cover art I’m going to break it down to pieces.
1. The Heartbeat records’ logo.
This was also separately designed by Elaine. The first “a” in the word “heartbeat” has been replaced with a ❤. At the center of the logo is a heartbeat wave. This symbolises our choice to love what we do and produce art that would build people up positively.
Elaine also says that “❤” is at the left side  of the word “heartbeat” just like the human heart is at the left side of the chest.(this girl is something else).
2. The “WhoIsDeydzi”. This is a very famous, question/Statement/ pseudonym. You might think of it as the name behind this project but it stands for something else. Well this project attempted to answer this famous question.
3. The Black background.
Life can sometimes be a darkened room.
4. The Spotlights.
They kind of create the impression of a stage set for a performance. This represents the high expectations we’ve got to meet… This represents the expectations you guys have for this project…. This represents the expectations the world has for me. These three lights are symbolic for the trilogy…( you are probably wondering what does this crazy dude mean by three lights… I only see two… Well there are three lights and the third light is currently off)
5. The human silhouette.
This guy is probably lost in deep thought, or confused or disappointed. To be honest I don’t really know what’s wrong with him. He represents me…
He represents you…
He represents Everyone,anyone and no one. In the sense that we don’t know exactly what is wrong with us… He also happens to be our third light(you know… Salt and light) he’s just not shinning right now…
6. The microphone 🎤 attached to the question mark.
In our quest to answer the questions that plague us we tend to create more unanswered questions… And that’s how life is…
7. When you put all together you realize that the cover art is a reflection of Life…
We’ve all got our own problems, yet at certain points in time we’re expected to grab that MIC and put on a great show…
The misconception is that the show is not necessarily about us, we’re just tools and a tool is only exalted in its master’s glory…
That’s the reason why the project’s name is not located at the center but the bottom… We’re playing the background, so that He plays the lead role.
I hope the project would be as dope as this cover art…
Do let me know what you think about it…
Meet me in the comments box…

Note to Foreign Readers: “Trotro” is the name given to minibuses used for public transport. “Qwerh” is a Ghanaian phrase… I can’t translate it directly but it is similar to “Damn”.

6tag_250117-000655

Author:

Spoken word artiste, Lyricist, writer, actor, radio show host.... Basically out of the abundance of my Art 🎨 you hear my heart ❤ speak

7 thoughts on “Misconceptions The Concept…

  1. First to comment!!! This was one long journey and I enjoyed every bit of it. Elaine is deep, no doubt! That simple picture? merhn, you are awesome Challey. Nora is gonna get you tho! So yeah! More Grace to your ink!!

    *drops mic*

    Like

    1. *picks the MIC up*
      One… Two… MIC test one two….
      Congratulations on commenting first👏👏… Yes Elaine is very deep… She actually refers to herself as a minimalist…. Just a simple picture oooo… I hope you enjoy the project
      *drops MIC again*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha I wish I could record cuz I have a lot to say. But anyways… Let’s just say this is a combined commentary of your previous post and this one? Okay so I think it’s a great project you have coming up. And big ups to you and your team. About the cover art; first impressions were lonely boy confused about his music career. And his world is just darkened with lots of sadness. (You know with all the colors and images). Then I went down to read the actual meanings. I think they fit in perfectly. So rewind to the actual pieces. Can’t wait to see you perform them cuz reading them gives one the imaginative power to remix and twist the nature of your pieces but hearing it gives the precise kind of (idk how to put it but you get it right). Uhuh so I’ll reserve the rest of the comments for laters. #TripleCheers and Congratz

    Like

    1. Wow 😲 you just broke my record of longest comment ever after Akotowaa😅😅😅 anyway thanks for reading… Now to WordPress including voice notes…. That would be very very epic… But first we will need a dabbing emoji for WhatsApp….
      Once again thanks…. If you still have more to say you can hit my email and then we link up on WhatsApp….

      Once again thanks(wait do I still say once again when it’s not one “thanks”…. #iKentThinkMadness) thanks…

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Wow 😲 you just broke my record of longest comment ever after Akotowaa😅😅😅 anyway thanks for reading… Now to WordPress including voice notes…. That would be very very epic… But first we will need a dabbing emoji for WhatsApp….
      Once again thanks…. If you still have more to so you can hit my email and then we link up on WhatsApp….

      Once again thanks(wait do I still say once again when it’s not one “thanks”…. #iKentThinkMadness) thanks…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

